Viva la Novella Prize

For the past ten years, Viva la Novella, Australia’s only stand-alone novella competition, has been publishing new voices and championing the novella form. The competition has given writers and editors the chance to experiment and break into the industry. Past winners include Marlee Jane Ward, who won the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for her young adult novella, Welcome to Orphancorp; and Mirandi Riwoe who was shortlisted for the Stella Prize and QLD Premier’s Award for her novella, The Fish Girl.

‘Seizure’s annual Viva La Novella award has produced some of Australia’s  most innovative and interesting recent fiction.’ The Australian, March 2020

Entries are currently open for Viva la Novella X and close on 31 December 2021. Enter here.